Faculty and Staff

Professor

Anne Brown

rank:  Professor
degree:  Ph.D., Brandeis University, 1984
interests:  Collegiate mathematics education, mathematical preparation of teachers
office:  NS307
phone:  (574) 520-4427
e-mail:  abrown@iusb.edu
webpage:  http://pages.iu.edu/~abrown
Yi Cheng

rank:  Professor
degree:  Ph.D., Statistics, University of Minnesota, 1992
interests:  Clinical trial methodology, Bayesian methods, sequential decision making
office:  NS321
phone:  (574) 520-4519
e-mail:  ycheng@iusb.edu
webpage:  http://pages.iu.edu/~ycheng

Zhong Guan

rank:  Professor
degree:  Ph.D., Statistics, University of Toledo, 2001
interests:  Bioinformatics and statistics: applications of statistics, empirical likelihood and gene expression microarray data analysis
office:  NS325
phone:  (574) 520-4430
e-mail:  zguan@iusb.edu
webpage:  http://pages.iu.edu/~zguan
Morteza Shafii-Mousavi

rank:  Professor
degree:  Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, 1979
interests:  Distribution theory, partial differential operators, mathematical modeling, mathematics education
office:  NS323
phone:  (574) 520-4516
e-mail:  mshafii@iusb.edu

Associate Professor

Shanqin Chen

rank:  Associate Professor
degree:  Ph.D., Brown University, 2005
interests:  Numerical analysis, scientific computing, computational biology
office:  NS373
phone:  (574) 520-4316
e-mail:  chen39@iusb.edu
webpage:  http://pages.iu.edu/~chen39

Peter Connor

rank:  Associate Professor
degree:  Ph.D., Indiana University, 2009
interests:  Differential geometry, geometric analysis, minimal surfaces
office:  NS375
phone:  (574) 520-5142
e-mail:  pconnor@iusb.edu
webpage:  http://pages.iu.edu/~pconnor

Anna Savvopoulou, Associate Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences

rank:  Associate Professor
degree:  Ph.D., SUNY Albany, 2009
interests:  Probability, ergodic theory, harmonic analysis, analytic number theory
office:  NS317
phone:  (574) 520-4240
e-mail:  annsavvo@iusb.edu

Yu Song, Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences

rank:  Associate Professor
degree:  Ph.D., Tulane University, 1991
interests:  Computational fluid dynamics, combustion, scientific computing
office:  NS319
phone:  (574) 520-4299
e-mail:  yusong@iusb.edu
webpage:  http://pages.iu.edu/~yusong

 

Assistant

Wiktor Mogilski

rank:  Visiting Assistant Professor
office:  NS327
phone:  (574) 520-4296
e-mail:  wmogilsk@iu.edu

Adjunct Professor of Actuarial Science:

Ali Ishaq

rank:  Adjunct Professor of Actuarial Science
degree:  Fellow of Casualty Actuarial Society
office:  Off Campus
phone:  (574) 520-4335
e-mail:  aliishaq@iusb.edu

Senior Lecturer

Sushma Agarwal

rank:  Senior Lecturer
office:  NS309
phone:  (574) 520-4327
e-mail:  sagarwal@iusb.edu
Mihaela Vajiac

rank:  Senior Lecturer
office:  NS313
phone:  (574) 520-5506
e-mail:  mvajiac@iusb.edu

Lecturer

Nuran Bradley

rank:  Lecturer
office:  NS305
phone:  (574) 520-5575
e-mail:  nbradley@iusb.edu
John Pankow

rank:  Lecturer
office:  NS311
phone:  (574) 520-4325
e-mail:  jpankow@iusb.edu
Kyle Schwieterman

rank:  ACE Lecturer
office:  NS345
phone:  (574) 520-4665
e-mail:  kschwiet@iusb.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dean Alvis

rank:  Emeritus Faculty
degree:  Ph.D., University of Oregon, 1980
interests:  Representations and characters of finite groups
e-mail:  dalvis@iusb.edu
webpage:  http://pages.iu.edu/~dalvis
Chang Choi

rank:  Emeritus Faculty
degree:  Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1968
interests:  Character theory of multiply transitive permutation groups, translation of Japanese mathematics into English
e-mail:  cchoi@iusb.edu
Michael Darnel
rank:  Professor Emeritus
degree:  Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1983
interests:  Ordered algebraic systems
e-mail:  mdarnel@iusb.edu
William J. Frascella
rank:  Emeritus Faculty
degree:  Ph.D., Mathematics, University of Notre Dame, 1966
Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Notre Dame, 1978
interests:  Philosophy of mathematics, history of mathematics
office:  NS308
phone:  (574) 520-4379
e-mail:  frascell@iusb.edu
Lynn R. Williams, Dean Emeritus, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

rank:  Emeritus Faculty
degree:  Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 1971
interests:  Statistics, mathematical modeling, nonlinear functional analysis
e-mail:  lwilliam@iusb.edu