Wolfson Press

Wolfson Press

Our Mission

Wolfson Press publishes a wide range of books in the arts and humanities, including literary titles. We have a special interest in books about the region called Michiana, those counties of north-central Indiana and southern Michigan that are served by Indiana University South Bend. Regionally, the press has focused on the history of race relations and civil rights, through the book series On Their Shoulders, edited by Emeritus Professor of History Les Lamon. More generally, we seek to publish histories, biographies, and anthologies that illuminate the cultural life of our region. We publish literary titles with a national scope, including collections of short fiction, memoirs, essays, and novellas through the American Storytellers series; individual volumes of poetry by new and established poets; and volumes of "collected poems" by late-career established poets.

Give Now

History of the Press

Wolfson Press was founded by the Master of Liberal Studies Program in 2007 and named in honor of IU South Bend’s first chancellor, Dr. Lester M. Wolfson (1923-2017), who led the development of the campus from 1964 to 1987. In 2009, the press began publication of its On Their Shoulders book series focused on the history of race relations and civil rights in South Bend, Indiana. In 2013, we launched a line of literary titles, beginning with Tom Vander Ven’s [Enter Ghost]. Philip Baruth’s collection of stories, American Zombie Beauty (2015) was the first title in the American Storytellers series, and Steve Henn’s poetry collection, Indiana Noble Sad Man of the Year (2017), was our first poetry title. The press continues to be operated by the Master of Liberal Studies Program.


Editorial Staff

  • Michael Kouroubetes, Associate Editor
  • Jo Polizzotto, Associate Editor (Wolfson Review)
  • Jo Hackett, Associate Editor (Wolfson Review)
  • Brooke Plummer, Assistant Editor
  • Bryce Delaney Walls, Assistant Editor
  • Amanda Jenkins, Social Media Editor

Associated Freelance Book Designers

Graphic Design Interns

  • Kylie Gonzalez
  • Katrina Anderson