Nancy Botkin

About me

Nancy Botkin began teaching at IU South Bend in 1991 and is currently a Senior Lecturer in the English department. She teaches primarily freshman composition, but also teaches W203, Introduction to Creative Writing, and A190, Art, Aesthetics & Creativity. Over the years Nancy has been an active member of multiple committees that deal with developmental writing issues such as curriculum, course goals, textbook selection, handbook selection, and placement test. She is currently serving a second 2-year term as Assistant Director of First-Year Writing.

She has received two teaching awards at IU South Bend. In 1999 she was awarded a TERA, Teaching Excellence Recognition Award, and more recently a 2008 Trustees’ Teaching Award.

Nancy served as one of the Campus Theme co-coordinators for the 2009/2010 academic year with the theme “The Urban and the Rural.” She helped coordinate Alex Kotlowitz’s visit to campus in November of 2009. Kotlowitz’s book, There Are No Children Here, was the campus theme selection.

In addition to teaching, Nancy is a working poet with publications in journals such as Poetry, Poetry East, The Midwest Quarterly, South Dakota Review, The Laurel Review, and American Literary Review. Mayapple Press published her full-length collection, Parts That Were Once Whole, in 2007. One of her chapbooks, Signs of Life, was published by No Exit Press in 1999, and the other, In Waves, was published by March Street Press in 2009. She won the 2005 Maize First Place Poetry Prize sponsored by the Writers’ Center of Indiana. Her poem, “Geometry,” was selected by Ted Kooser for his national newspaper column, American Life in Poetry. She is currently seeking publication for a new full-length collection, The Next Infinity.

Courses Recently Taught at IU South Bend

Freshman composition

W203 - Introduction to Creative Writing.

A190 - Art, Aesthetics & Creativity.

Service at IU South Bend

Member of multiple committees that deal with developmental writing issues.

Assistant Director of First-Year Writing

Campus Theme co-coordinators for the 2009/2010 academic year